#1 2021-11-03 06:37:30

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi,

In what table does the data entered in dynamic list creation(Id, Name, description, query etc) stored?. I am new to reportserver and I couldn't find out the correct table. Also, in rs_reports table, the descriptions entered are not saving. It always shows null.

And I aslo want to know whether we can add columns to the db without crashing the server?

Thank you.

Last edited by Asie123 (2021-11-03 07:04:00)

Offline

#2 2021-11-03 13:31:28

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

where exactly the data is being saved in the metadata db is not documented. If you are interested you may look at the hibernate entities (Report.java, etc), there you should see the tables. For example: https://github.com/infofabrik/reportser … eport.java
"@Table(name = "REPORT")"

But of course you have joins, etc, so this is not trivial to find out. Why do you need this information ? In most cases this is not needed.

"And I aslo want to know whether we can add columns to the db without crashing the server?" -> what do you mean exactly ? You mean add columns to the reportserver-database? this is again not recommended, the reportserver db should be left as it is installed and managed by reportserver.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#3 2021-11-04 09:34:36

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Thank you. I also need to know if there is a way a user only can access executed report without login? Not the other services.

As an example
User should be able to access : http://SERVER:PORT/reportserver/ReportServer.html#inlinereport/id:1234&type:preview

But not : http://SERVER:PORT/reportserver/ReportServer.html after removing the report viewing part from the url.

Is there any chance to do that?

Thank you.

Offline

#4 2021-11-04 10:06:27

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

pls open new threads for new topics.
You can find the URL documentation here: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … a-the-URL/

You can try with report export with apikey: 7.11.3. Embedding Reports Without Login
Note that this would only work for export, but not for inline view. For inline view this is currently not possible with apikey.

Pls. note of course that you can just use permissions / rights for allowing the user to only access the reports you need and nothing more. So the user would only see and be able to use the elements/reports you allow. More information here: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … anagement/

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#5 2021-11-05 04:25:10

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi eduardo,

eduardo wrote:

Hi Asie123,

pls open new threads for new topics.
You can find the URL documentation here: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … a-the-URL/

You can try with report export with apikey: 7.11.3. Embedding Reports Without Login
Note that this would only work for export, but not for inline view. For inline view this is currently not possible with apikey.

Pls. note of course that you can just use permissions / rights for allowing the user to only access the reports you need and nothing more. So the user would only see and be able to use the elements/reports you allow. More information here: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … anagement/

Regards,
Eduardo

I tried creating users like in the above tutorial. But it did not work. My passwords and usernames are not saving. If you can, please state the correct steps using an example ? Also want to know how to create those Organizational Units and ho to allow user groups to access only the permitted reports and nothing more. If you can guide, it will be a great help.

Thank you.

Offline

#6 2021-11-05 15:36:03

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

what exactly is not working ? How are you saving the passwords and usernames that are not saving ? Can you pls post some screenshots e.g. via http://imgbb.com

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#7 2021-11-05 16:41:57

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi eduardo,

I try creating users like in https://ibb.co/QYzXGPc ,

When going to save it, at first comes an error like in  https://ibb.co/rmCZvT4

But when ok it and when trying again it shows changes applied. But when I refresh and goto the created user, it shows all default values again. (Like Firstname, Lastname, username like that). Like in: https://ibb.co/yVYytW3 only the expire date is saved. In the db also, it is saved as,
https://ibb.co/fMwSd7n

I gave reportserver access permissions to the created user, but when giving permission, it doesn't show the given first, last names.
https://ibb.co/ZgmWCMb

My requirement is to allow different user groups only to execute only the reports they are permmitted. They should not be able to view other users reports or any other thing inside the reportserver. Like mentioned before.

Thank you.

Last edited by Asie123 (2021-11-08 10:09:27)

Offline

#8 2021-11-10 05:07:03

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi,

I could create the users when the email address field is kept empty.

Now I have the following questions.

1. Can I give users of report server only the report viewing(not downloading) permissions without login and without accessing other things and also without being able to view other not permitted reports - not using api key method is there any way without login?

2. When giving such permission, can you tell me the following steps are correct?. I am having a confusion here with these ACEs.

       * https://ibb.co/3rjNyKK - for the report
       * https://ibb.co/4fNzftW - for the permission

3. Also I would like to know where can I find/give the api key for the user, I couldn't see a place where this api key is created.

Thank you,
Asie.

Last edited by Asie123 (2021-11-10 05:14:21)

Offline

#9 2021-11-10 13:58:01

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Asie123 wrote:

I could create the users when the email address field is kept empty.

Hi Asie123,

yes, the problem above is due to the cause that your mail.cf is not configured correctly. You should configure it to receive emails as described here:
https://reportserver.net/en/guides/conf … Scheduler/
4.3.1. Mail Server Configuration

or you can use an email datasink as also described there as well. When you change the user's password, an email is being sent for security purposes, that's why this is needed in this case.

Asie123 wrote:

1. Can I give users of report server only the report viewing(not downloading) permissions without login and without accessing other things and also without being able to view other not permitted reports - not using api key method is there any way without login?

currently, this is only available via api key, so it is for downloading reports mainly. For running reports currently there is no way without login, but we have a ticket for this. You can of course create a html export, which should work as well.

Asie123 wrote:

2. When giving such permission, can you tell me the following steps are correct?. I am having a confusion here with these ACEs.

       * https://ibb.co/3rjNyKK - for the report
       * https://ibb.co/4fNzftW - for the permission

what exactly are you trying to set ? The "reportserver access" is explained here:
https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … anagement/
and you set "execute", which is correct and allows the user to log-in:
ReportServer access. The ReportServer Access right controls who has access to ReportServer, i.e., on login ReportServer checks if the user has the execute (x) right.

The report-permission should be read and execute, depends on what you are trying to do. But, again, this won't work without login and without download (see above 2).

Asie123 wrote:

3. Also I would like to know where can I find/give the api key for the user, I couldn't see a place where this api key is created.

As explained here: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … a-the-URL/
Define the API Key and Define Appropriate Permissions
To define an API key for a user go to the user management view and select the user in question. Then select the tab User Properties and add a new property called apikey. As value, you can use any string (preferably a random string that is on the longish side).

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#10 2021-11-11 06:20:33

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi,

Thank you for the great explanation. One another thing I want to know is that when an unauthorized user tries to download a report in httpauthexport method, it shows a screen like below. Can't we change this only to show the error?
And also, if we give download from a button click in an application, will this redirect to the url?

https://ibb.co/cQt9j6m

Thanks.

Last edited by Asie123 (2021-11-11 06:29:53)

Offline

#11 2021-11-11 07:22:45

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

currently, it is not possible to change the error, so the user will get the error stack as in your screenshot.

You can treat the URL as a file, so yes, the download button in an application would work analogously as if the URL contained a file.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#12 2021-11-12 10:58:32

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi eduardo,

When I use download=false in the httpauthexport method, it redirects to the url and shows the report. But it shows all usernames, api keys and report ids there in the url.
Another thing is that, when a user only has access to execute a report, but he tries to log in using the correct username and password, It first shows login attempt failed. But when that pop up is closed, the report server page is shown with a blank and also with the welcome content for that user with first and last names like in below pic.
https://ibb.co/CwcZL5z

Am I missing something when giving permission?, It should not show the user details if not permitted. Isn't it?

Thank you.

Last edited by Asie123 (2021-11-12 17:19:01)

Offline

#13 2021-11-18 10:16:07

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

yes, currently, the username and api key is shown in the URL, as described in the documentation (report access per url).

Regarding the login attempt: you can try to remove the "ReportServer Access" permission for this user:
https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … anagement/

ReportServer access. The ReportServer Access right controls who has access to ReportServer, i.e., on login ReportServer checks if the user has the execute (x) right.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#14 2021-11-29 06:11:07

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi,

eduardo wrote:

Regarding the login attempt: you can try to remove the "ReportServer Access" permission for this user:
https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … anagement/

Although I removed report server access to this user, this still happens. 

Thanks.

Offline

#15 2021-11-29 16:57:09

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

can you explicitely set "reporserver access" to deny for this user for testing ?
Which ReportServer version exactly do you have ?

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#16 2021-11-30 02:59:03

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Eduardo,

I tested by denying the access, but still happens.
The version is - RS3.7.1-6046 .

Thanks.

Offline

#17 2021-11-30 07:22:44

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Website

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi Asie123,

can you pls try with RS3.7.1-6048 ? We have a bugfix which may solve the problem:

RS-5060    Bug    Inhibited users can log in

https://reportserver.net/releasenotes/RS3.7.1.html

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#18 2021-12-01 11:32:56

Asie123
Member
Registered: 2021-11-02

Re: Dynamic lists data in DB

Hi,

I will try the new version and update.

For this below scenario, can you do a suggestion not to show these credentials in the URL?

eduardo wrote:

yes, currently, the username and api key is shown in the URL, as described in the documentation (report access per url).

Thank you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB