#1 2019-06-04 06:51:21

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi,
Is there any possibility that I can adjust DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION of columns according to chosen language in gui?

https://reportserver.net/blog/2016/08/0 … mic-lists/

How should I write such a script? What to write in Metadata query?

Another question is how to adapt parameter name and description added to Report with current language?

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-04 08:24:38)

Offline

#2 2019-06-04 08:29:24

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

When it comes to column default alias and description I found a post:
https://forum.reportserver.net/viewtopic.php?id=605
Maybe it's a good direction to solve problem but I rather prefer saving column alisas and description in database because I will have a lot of different reports with two languages.

I wonder now how can I adjust parameter name and description according to language? Now this seems to be a problem. In the worst case I would have to create two reports, one for each language....

Offline

#3 2019-06-04 14:10:59

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

multilanguage parameters are not yet supported. We have a ticket for this: RS-3476

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#4 2019-06-04 14:13:06

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

nevertheless, you should be able to create a script datasource that depending on the language selects the right columns (mycolumn_de, mycolumn_en, mycolumn_pl, etc). Similar as here: https://forum.reportserver.net/viewtopi … 2424#p2424
Then use this script datasource as a metadata datasource in your report.

This only works for column names and descriptions, not for parameters. For parameters, we have the ticket I mentioned above.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#5 2019-06-05 06:28:18

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Eduardo,
I understand.
Is it possible if this ticket is done in next version 3.0.8?
I hope you issue next version very soon because I am still working on a preview version of 3.0.8 smile
Till that time I will adapt my columns depending on current languages.

Is there or will be any possibility in future:
1) to have constant parameter possible to use in query (query for data and for metadata) which says which language is chosen (locale) - sth like ${CURR_LOCALE}?
2) use any parameter in metadata query wrapper? (like in query for data I can use my defined parameters)?

I think these two features will help users a lot and simplify a lot of questions.

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-05 06:39:28)

Offline

#6 2019-06-07 07:27:24

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

I raised 3 tickets for related multilanguage features:
RS-3484: Multilanguage Report Metadata
RS-3485: Multilanguage Datasource Parameter
RS-3486: Multilanguage Parameter

I also raised:
RS-3487: Make locale available to query wrapper

I am not sure if they will make it to 3.0.8 , but these tickets are open they are interesting feature requests. I will update here when I have more information.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#7 2019-06-07 07:57:00

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Eduardo,
It sounds perfect!
I keep my fingers crossed and I hope to see such features in 3.0.8 smile

P.S.
"RS-3486: Make locale available to query wrapper" I suppose you meant "RS-3487..." smile

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-07 07:58:25)

Offline

#8 2019-06-07 08:25:40

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

yes, I corrected the ticket number wink

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#9 2019-06-07 08:41:16

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

You can also include in ticket to make 'locale' available also to QUERY for data, not only for METADATA - in both it would be helpful!

Offline

#10 2019-06-07 09:11:46

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

yes, RS-3488: make locale available to query

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#11 2019-06-07 09:38:01

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

OK, perfect smile

Offline

#12 2019-06-12 09:41:47

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

I just wanted to let you know: we are currently working on making some standard parameters available to all queries (metadata query, normal query, query wrappers, etc). This includes locale, current username, etc. The default parameters will be included in a menu, so they will be very easy to select.

When this is finished, you will be able to easily create a metadata query that depends on locale:
select * from mytable where locale = ${_RS_locale} or similar.  I will update here when I have more information.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#13 2019-06-12 09:56:29

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi!
It's great to hear it!
It would be a really useful feature in your ReportServer which makes easier for user to create many reports!
Thank you.

P.S. Please have a look at https://forum.reportserver.net/viewtopic.php?id=1452 - it seems to be easy to correct and a bit connected with this one.

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-12 09:58:46)

Offline

#14 2019-06-12 10:54:49

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Eduardo,
Just for your information, nowadays in my version I can use in query ${_RS_LOCALE} and it works smile
Only in windows of administration Execute of Metadata Query doesn't work but when I open Execution View it works as I expected (get English aliases of coulmn from metadata query):)

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-12 11:23:02)

Offline

#15 2019-06-12 10:59:07

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

please test the following in your metadata datasource:
select * from mytable where locale = ${_RS_LOCALE}

This should already work. The only missing part is showing a list to the user in the GUI with all available default parameters wink But if you write the parameter directly into the query, it should work. Please confirm.
With this, you can already translate default alias and description wink

Regarding the other ticket, yes, we will take a look, it seems related as well.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#16 2019-06-12 11:01:31

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

for your reference, here is a list of the default parameters that should already work:

_RS_USER_LASTNAME
_RS_USER_USERNAME
_RS_REPORT_NAME
_RS_USER_EMAIL
_RS_REPORT_KEY
_RS_LOCALE_USER
_RS_REPORT_DESCRIPTION 
_RS_USER_FIRSTNAME
_RS_REPORT_ID
_RS_LOCALE_SYS
_RS_USER_ID
_RS_USER_TITLE 
_RS_LOCALE

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#17 2019-06-12 11:02:47

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

these are documented here:
https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … arameters/

We are adding them to the GUI so it is easier for the user to add the parameters without referring to the documentation wink

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#18 2019-06-12 11:28:56

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Great!
But take a look on button Execute in Query for Metadata in Administration of ReportServer because only there I got en error using ${_RS_LOCALE} smile

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-12 11:29:18)

Offline

#19 2019-06-12 11:37:20

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

thanks for letting me know. We will correct this in RS-3500.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#20 2019-06-12 12:14:20

Patryx
Member
Registered: 2019-03-25
Posts: 118

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

One more thing smile
_RS_REPORT_KEY
This one doesn't work well.
If I open base report I expect base report key. If I open variant I expect variant report key.
Unfortunately this doesn't work. _RS_REPORT_ID and _RS_REPORT_NAME work as expected, so only _RS_REPORT_KEY is a problem.
What's interesting in Administration, if I click button Execute on data query I see the key of base report, but in Execution View this column value is empty.
Could you check why _RS_REPORT_KEY doesn't work?

Last edited by Patryx (2019-06-12 12:22:01)

Offline

#21 2019-06-12 12:18:16

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

thanks for testing. We will take a look in RS-3501.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#22 2019-06-12 12:38:24

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,204
Website

Re: Column DEFAULT_ALIAS and DESCRIPTION - different languages

Hi Patryx,

we corrected RS-3500 for 3.0.8.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB