#1 2018-12-05 08:27:56

Aniello
Member
Registered: 2018-09-09
Posts: 17

Column sort not working for dynamic list

There seems to be a problem with sorting columns when previewing a dynamic list report. E.g. can't sort columns in the Audit Log and for own dynamic list reports. Currently running latest RS EE (Evaluation).

Offline

#2 2018-12-05 09:57:35

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

which database are you using in your dynamic lists? Did you perform a bitnami or a manual installation?

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#3 2018-12-05 21:28:10

Aniello
Member
Registered: 2018-09-09
Posts: 17

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Eduardo

Default Bitnami installation - using installed Audit Log report as an example

Last edited by Aniello (2018-12-05 21:29:27)

Offline

#4 2018-12-06 07:58:18

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

check the demo system: https://reportserver.net/de/demo/. User: demoadmin, demoadmin.

The sorting is working here. For example open the T_AGG_CUSTOMER - Basis report, its variant: Customers with negative account balance
It is sorted by default by "CUS_CUSTOMERNAME" descending. You can change this and it works.
Can you please check if you are doing the same ?

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#5 2018-12-06 10:53:50

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

we just tried to sort with the default bitnami installation 3.0.5 version, audit log report, and it works in our environment. How exactly are you sorting your fields? Can you send a screenshot ?

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#6 2018-12-20 10:22:36

Aniello
Member
Registered: 2018-09-09
Posts: 17

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Eduardo

Just returned so picking this up again as we need to make a buying decision soon. Basically, sorting doesn't work on my local Bitnami RS EE install (Macbook) and neither on one of our Centos servers. I created a custom Dynamic List report when I noticed that - using Preview - I then thought I would just try to Preview and then sort one of the installed reports (Audit Log) - with same effect.

I did try your demo server and there it works ..... we are a bit stuck now - filtering works fine.

rs-sort


Regards
Aniello

Last edited by Aniello (2018-12-20 11:20:00)

Offline

#7 2018-12-20 11:46:29

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

this is very strange. Which datasource is your audit_log dynamic list pointing to? Is it the default mariaDb installed with bitnami? Can you please send a screenshot of the datasource configuration?

Did you perform an upgrade or did you directly install the 3.0.5 bitnami package ?

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#8 2018-12-20 12:27:30

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

we are seeing the problem in certain test cases. I will update here when I have more information.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#9 2018-12-20 13:24:44

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

this only seems to be happening with MariaDB. MariaDB is the default Bitnami database. If you create a datasource pointing to another database, even MySQL, does the sorting work? We are currently only seeing this with MariaDB / Bitnami.
Fyi: we raised ticket RS-3230 for this.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#10 2018-12-20 13:49:10

Aniello
Member
Registered: 2018-09-09
Posts: 17

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Eduardo

You are right - no issues with sort when running on MySQL.

MariaDB is what we are using in production so we won't be able to change DB.

Regards

Aniello

Offline

#11 2018-12-20 14:18:19

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

"MariaDB is what we are using in production so we won't be able to change DB."
-> Do you mean you use MariaDB as an internal reportserver database, or do you use MariaDB in your production databases (customers, etc).

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#12 2018-12-20 14:50:05

Aniello
Member
Registered: 2018-09-09
Posts: 17

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Eduardo

MariaDB is used for both internal reportserver db and also in production databases - we use Galera clustering...

if it helps, I think the issue might be with some differences in 'order by' between MySQL and MariaDB - have a look here: https://sujithjay.com/2017/12/01/Order- … aDB-MySQL/

Regards
Aniello

Last edited by Aniello (2018-12-20 14:55:09)

Offline

#13 2019-01-02 09:45:46

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

fyi, we are seeing the problem and are trying some approaches in order to fix this. We will update this thread when we have more information. This should be corrected in the next reportserver version, available the latest at the end of january.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#14 2019-01-08 10:38:12

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

we fixed this and the fix will be available with reportserver 3.0.6. I sent you a patch for 3.0.5 per email, please test it and let us know if this works for you.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#15 2019-01-13 14:24:35

Aniello
Member
Registered: 2018-09-09
Posts: 17

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Eduardo

Thank you for the fix - we tested this and sorting MariaDB columns now works fine.

Best Regards
Aniello

Offline

#16 2019-03-13 10:55:28

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 1,460
Website

Re: Column sort not working for dynamic list

Hi Aniello,

ReportServer 3.0.6 is released and this is available now as you can read in the release notes: https://reportserver.net/releasenotes/RS3.0.6.html

RS-3230    Bug    Dynamic list sorting is not working with MariaDB

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB