#1 2018-01-24 10:03:42

jakob
Member
Registered: 2018-01-24
Posts: 3

How to set the mondrian properties correctly?

Im trying to performance tune mondrian on report server, but there seems to be no good way of setting them from within report server.
I've tried specifying them in the datasource properties field and as system properties through a groovy script, but it seems like they don't stick.

What im trying to do is this:
https://help.pentaho.com/Documentation/ … 50/010/040

How can i do this on report server?

Offline

#2 2018-01-24 10:17:48

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 583

Re: How to set the mondrian properties correctly?

Hi jakob,

you should be able to set the properties in the mondrian datasource definition: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … a-Sources/
There, you already see some mondrian properties being set:
type=OLAP
name=Foodmart
driver=mondrian.olap4j.MondrianOlap4jDriver
location=jdbc:mondrian:Jdbc=jdbc:mysql://localhost/foodmart
jdbcDrivers=com.mysql.jdbc.Driver
jdbcUser=
jdbcPassword=

You should be able to add properties, e.g.:
result.limit=5000000
rolap.iterationLimit=5000000

Please let us know if this works for you.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#3 2018-01-24 10:44:18

jakob
Member
Registered: 2018-01-24
Posts: 3

Re: How to set the mondrian properties correctly?

It does not seem to work.
I've tried setting both

rolap.queryTimeout=1
mondrian.rolap.queryTimeout=1

in the datasource properties, but mondrian still executes queries that take longer than 1 second.
Setting mondrian.rolap.queryTimeout should give you a timeout error for the majority of queires.

Could it be that i need to restart the report server to actually make mondrian reload the properties?

Offline

#4 2018-01-24 10:53:42

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 583

Re: How to set the mondrian properties correctly?

Hi jakob,

yes, please restart tomcat/reportserver and let us know if this works.

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

#5 2018-01-24 11:33:48

jakob
Member
Registered: 2018-01-24
Posts: 3

Re: How to set the mondrian properties correctly?

Im not the sysadmin of this system, so restarting this requires me to get hold of my boss who is busy.

However i now managed to set the property through a groovy hack.

Class propc = Class.forName("mondrian.olap.MondrianProperties");
def prop = propc.instance();
prop.setProperty("mondrian.rolap.queryTimeout", "1");

Now i get this exception in saiku as expected:
OlapException: Mondrian Error:Query timeout of 1 seconds reached

I will maybe come back to you later if i discover that this property issue is a bug in reportserver.

Last edited by jakob (2018-01-24 11:57:51)

Offline

#6 2018-04-28 12:34:24

eduardo
Administrator
Registered: 2016-11-01
Posts: 583

Re: How to set the mondrian properties correctly?

Hi jakob,

sorry for the confusion. The right place to configure mondrian is in the mondrian.properties file. You can create it in your WEB-INF/classes directory if it doesn't exist. I tried with "mondrian.rolap.queryTimeout=3" and it works. So you can delete your workaround hack.
I will include this information in the mondrian datasource section here: https://reportserver.net/en/guides/admi … a-Sources/

Regards,
Eduardo

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB